NEW CARRIER GUIDANCE FOR INTRASTATE PROPERTY CARRYING MOTOR CARRIERS

Step 1: Obtain a United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) number issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). The online application can be found at this website:

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/getting-started

The FMCSA regulates *interstate* commerce. When using the website to determine if a USDOT number is required, it may indicate a USDOT number is not required for *intrastate* commerce unless you are transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring the display of placards. Even though you may not be engaged in *interstate* commerce, or transporting hazardous materials, you are required by Section 34507.5(a)(1) of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) to obtain a USDOT number before obtaining a California identification number (CA number).

Step 2: Obtain a CA number. Submit a CHP 362, Motor Carrier Profile, to a local CHP Motor Carrier Safety Unit located on page 3 of the application. Be sure to include your USDOT number on the application, as a CA number cannot be issued without this information. The CHP 362, Motor Carrier Profile, can be found at this website:

https://www.chp.ca.gov/Programs-Services/Programs/Commercial-Vehicle-Section

Step 3: Obtain a Motor Carrier of Property Permit (MCPP) using the CA number issued by the CHP. Submit a DMV MC 706 M, Application for Motor Carrier Permit, to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Motor Carrier Permit Operations Unit. The requirements for the MCPP are explained on the application. The DMV MC 706 M and other information can be found at this website:

www.dmv.ca.gov/

The MCPP application may be found by typing "MC 706 M" into the search field on the website.

NOTE Local DMV offices are not able to process information relating to MCPP.

The California DMV, Motor Carrier Permit Operations Unit, processes applications for MCPP. Their contact number is (916) 657-8153.

OTHER REQUIREMENTS

You are required to perform 90-day preventative maintenance on your vehicles and document this maintenance per Section 34505.5 CVC. The CHP provides a form, CHP 108, Truck and/or Tractor Maintenance & Safety Inspection, you may use to document your maintenance. The CHP 108 can be found at this website.

https://www.chp.ca.gov/Programs-Services/Programs/Commercial-Vehicle-Section

Drivers of regulated vehicles are subject to hours-of-service (HOS) requirements. One requirement of the HOS requirements is to document the driver's activity in a logbook. The logbook must contain the true and accurate activities of the driver, must be in the driver's possession while in the regulated vehicle, and current to last duty status change.

Exception to Logbook Requirement

Time records may be used as an exception to the logbook requirement, if the motor carrier and driver are in compliance with all of the following conditions:

- Keep true and accurate time records. The following information is required for the time record, date, start time, end time, and hours worked. The time record must be maintained for a 6 month period, <u>and</u>
- 2. Stay within 100 air mile radius of normal work reporting location, and
- 3. Start and return and be released from duty within 12 consecutive hours, and
- 4. 10 hour rest period between each 12 hours on duty.

HOS reference Sections 1212, 1212.5 & 1213 of Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations can be found at this website.

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Browse/Home/California/CaliforniaCodeofRegulations ?guid=I508F0B60D46911DE8879F88E8B0DAAAE&originationContext=documenttoc&tr ansitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)